AS*EER Prize

In 2020, the Association for Socioeconomic Education and Research (AS*EER) again praises the Prize for socioeconomic education and research (AS*EER Prize)

The prize, which is endowed with up to 2,000 euros, is awarded for outstanding scientific theses, dissertations and postdoctoral theses that are dedicated to inter- and intradisciplinary approaches in socioeconomic education and science. It has been awarded annually since 2018. From 2018 to 2023, it is sponsored by the Canopus Foundation in Freiburg.

The circle of reviewers consists of the acting AS*EER board of directors. It is intended to consider work that makes an interesting and relevant contribution to the thematic, methodological, paradigmatic or didactic design of socioeconomic education and science. The papers should not be older than two years (deadline is the date of submission). The festive award ceremony will take place in virtual form as part of the GSÖBW/AS*EER Forum 2021. Detailed information on the GSÖBW/AS*EER Forum 2021 can be found here.

We cordially invite you to send your work, including relevant expert opinions and curriculum vitae, until 15.09.2020 by e-mail to as well as to the following address:

Association for Socioeconomic Education and Research
c/o Prof. Dr. Tim Engartner
Chair of Didactics of Social Sciences

Goethe University Frankfurt am Main
Department of Social Sciences
Theodor-W.-Adorno-Platz 6
P.O. Box PEG 19
60323 Frankfurt am Main

Click here for the detailed announcement of the AS*EER award.

List of previous award winners:

Dr. Christian Fischer, University of Erfurt, title: Wirtschaftsordnungen simulativ verstehen und beurteilen lernen. Grundlagen, Planspielkonzeption und die Rekonstruktion von Lernwegen als Beitrag zur politikdidaktischen Unterrichtsforschung (award ceremony at the University of Duisburg-Essen 2019)

Dr. Franziska Wittau, University of Bielefeld, title: Verbraucherbildung als Alltagshilfe. Deutungsmuster zu Konsum und Bildung im Spiegel sozialwissenschaftlicher Professionalität (award ceremony at the University College of Teacher Education Vienna 2020)

Dr. Kai Krüger, Free University of Berlin, title: ‚Stunde null, Wirtschaftswunder, Mangelwirtschaft’ – gegenwärtige Schulgeschichtsbücher zwischen historischem Lernen und normativer Darstellung Kristin Langen, Leuphana University of Lüneburg, title: Can Thomas Piketty’s thesis that declining economic growth leads to increasing economic inequality be confirmed for Germany? A socio-economic analysis of Thomas Piketty’s work ‘Capital in the 21st Century’ (award ceremony as part of the digital GSÖBW-Forum 2021)